Top students honored at 2016 Just Desserts

• Click here for a slideshow on Facebook, including this photo (from left) of Kendal Blust, Jenny Hijazi and Hannah Gaber.

• Click here to see the Just Desserts program and full list of graduates.

• Check out this KUAZ report on graduating senior Karen Schaffner, 58, who won the Kathryn Anne Governal Perseverance Award and chatted with Governal's father, George.

Julianne Stanford

Christianna Silva

Kendal Blust, Julianne Stanford, Christianna Silva and Hannah Gaber captured top honors May 12 at the University of Arizona School of Journalism’s 50th annual Just Desserts student awards celebration at the Arizona Historical Society.

Blust, a graduate student, received the Philip Mangelsdorf Award for Outstanding Newsperson of the Year, which recognizes the top reporter/journalist in the program.

Stanford captured the Sherman R. Miller Award for Outstanding Senior.

Silva received the Brewster P. Campbell Award for Outstanding Junior.

Gaber was named the Outstanding Graduate Student. She is receiving a dual master’s in Journalism and Middle Eastern and North African Studies.

Mangelsdorf, Miller and Campbell were former journalism department heads.

Professor Nancy Sharkey won the Hugh and Jan Harelson Excellence in Teaching Award, as voted on by faculty and students.

Other awards given out Thursday were:

  • Excellence in Science and Environmental Journalism: Mikayla Mace and
    Elizabeth Eaton
  • Excellence in Broadcast Journalism Award: Abby Friedemann
  • Innovation Award: Jenny Hijazi
  • Excellence in International Journalism: Kendal Blust, Hannah Gaber
  • J. Y. Bryan Prize for Interpretive Photography: Jordan Glenn
  • Donald Still Award – Arizona Daily Wildcat: Alicia Vega
  • Abe Chanin Award for Excellence in Sports Reporting: Justin Spears
  • Excellence in Research: Ary Hermawan
  • Leadership and Service Awards: Jordan Glenn, Julianne Stanford,
    Amanda Martinez
  • Excellence in Design: Annie Dickman
  • Douglas Martin Award for Integrity and Courage: Christianna Silva
  • William Hattich Awards for Journalism Professionalism: Jenny Hijazi, Alex Devoid, Sydney Haliburton
  • Alex Parker Awards for Reporting: Cali Nash, Jordan Glenn, David McGlothlin
  • Kathryn Anne Governal Perseverance Award: Karen Schaffner
  • Certificates of Merit: Allie Adamson, Sarah Cline, Devon Confrey, Maggie Driver, Emily Ellis, Jorge Encinas, Kyle Hansen, Chastity Laskey, Anna Ludlum,
    Ashley McGowan, Ethan McSweeney, Nick Peppe, Alicia Vega, Bakina Wellars,
    Lyndsey Wilhelm
  • Kappa Tau Alpha Award: Tobey Schmidt
  • Drew Gyorke Photojournalism Contest: Fall 2015: First – Tobey Schmidt Second – Courtney Talak Third – Cherie Cole. Spring 2016 First – Brooke Cambareri Second – Elise McClain Third – Pablo Lopez
  • Mark Finley Gold Pen Award for best beginning newswriter: Fall 2015 First – Erik Kolsrud Second – Brit Reid Third – Jordyn Owen. Spring 2016 First – Marissa Heffernan Second – Nate Airulla Third – Michelle Jaquette

Also, the following scholarships were handed out:

  • Arizona Daily Star Scholarship: Natalia Navarro, Amanda Martinez
  • Edith Auslander Scholarship: Amanda Martinez
  • John Barnett Scholarship: Emily Lai, Nicholas Cada
  • Concerned Media Professionals Scholarship: Kendal Blust, Maxie Ruan, Amanda Martinez
  • Bernice Cosulich Scholarship: Ava Garcia, Leah Merral, Courtney Talak
  • D.C. “Darn Cat” Scholarship: Taylor Dayton, Alex Devoid, Anna Ludlum, Alyssa Schlitzer
  • Steve Emerine Scholarship: Jennifer Hijazi
  • Richard Gilman Scholarship: Chastity Laskey, Elizabeth Eaton
  • Hank Hubbard Scholarship: Julianne Stanford
  • Peggy Daum Judge Scholarship: Christianna Silva, Danyelle Khmara
  • Sara and Harold Love Scholarship: Ethan McSweeney, Yuji Miyaji
  • Donovan M. Kramer Sr. Entrepreneurial Scholarship: Andrew Paxton
  • Douglas D. Martin Scholarship: Cherie Cole
  • Lois R. Nelson Scholarship: Cherie Cole
  • Jon Ruby Scholarship: Mark Flores, Sydney Richardson
  • Society of Professional Journalists Scholarship: Chastity Laskey, Tirion Morris
  • Merigay Finnerty Sotomayor Scholarship: Betsy Kaplan, Cherie Cole
  • Lois Whisler Scholarship: Betsy Kaplan

Some of the Spring 2016 School of Journalism graduates pose for professor Michael McKisson in front of the Marshall Building after the May 12 Just Desserts Student Award Celebration. From left, (front row) Hannah Gaber, Svetlana Popovic, Victoria Teplitz, Anna Ludlum, (second row) Karen Schaffner, Ashley McGowan, Mac Colson, Abby Friedemann, Malena Larson; (third row) Kethia Kong, Alicia Vega, Zeina Peterson, Silvia Sanchez; (fourth row) David McGlothlin, Julian Cronen, Ethan McSweeney, Michael Hernandez.

Published Date: 

05/12/2016 - 9:50am