Students pick up awards, scholarships at annual Just Desserts celebration

School Director David Cuillier (center) chats with members of the Kramer family, who started a scholarship in the name of Donovan Kramer Sr. From left are grandson Brian, son Donovan Jr., and granddaughter Zoe. 

Dozens of students in the UA School of Journalism were honored for their academic excellence, initiative and creativity at the school's annual Just Desserts Awards and Scholarship celebration May 3.  

Melanie Huonker won the Sherman R. Miller Award for Outstanding Senior, Kellie Mejdrich was named the Philip Mangelsdorf Outstanding Newsperson, Cecelia Marshall won the B.P. Campbell Award for Outstanding Junior and Anissa Tanweer won the Outstanding Graduate Student Award. 

In addition, the school awarded the Ralph and Jan Carpenter Scholarship for the first time. It honors a UA journalism graduate (Ralph) who worked in the newspaper advertising and insurance industries.

The school also honored Jay Rochlin, an assistant professor of practice who is retiring after seven years with the program. Students gave the Hugh and Jan Harelson Teaching Award to Prof. Terry Wimmer.

Click here for the full list of award and scholarship winners.


Published Date: 

05/07/2012 - 2:36pm