Heffernan wins Spring 2016 Finley award

Marissa Heffernan, winner

Nate Airulla, second place

Michelle Jaquette, third place

Freshman Marissa Heffernan captured the Mark Finley Gold Pen Award in the school's Spring 2016 Best Beginning News Writing Contest on Wednesday.
Sophomore Nate Airulla took second place and freshman Michelle Jaquette finished third after 11 students in Journalism 205 participated in the contest in Marshall 342. Heffernan won $1,000 in scholarship money, followed by Airulla ($750) and Jaquette ($500).
The three will be honored at the School of Journalism awards event, Just Desserts, on May 12 at 4 p.m. at the Arizona Historical Society.
Students had an hour to write a story after a 20-minute talk and 40-minute interview session with Lynn Nadel, chair of the faculty and a regent’s professor in psychology and cognitive science.
Nadel spoke about student demands for more inclusivity and cultural sensitivity at the University of Arizona.
Judging the contest this year were professors Susan Knight and Nancy Sharkey and adjunct instructor Joe Sharkey.
The contest is named for the late Mark Finley, a UA grad who was a journalist and assistant to the publisher of Hearst's Boston newspaper for 17 years.
Go to journalism.arizona.edu/finley/list to see past winners.

UA faculty chair Lynn Nadel, right, talks to students in the Spring 2016 Finley Best Beginning News Writing Contest at Marshall 342. Nadel is a regent’s professor in psychology and cognitive science.

Published Date: 

04/21/2016 - 11:19am