Frisbie wins spring 2014 Gyorke photo award

Three students were honored as winners of the second Drew Gyorke Photojournalism Contest. The contest is named for a journalism student with a passion for photography who was killed in a Tucson car accident last spring. His family and friends raised more than $25,000 to create an endowment in his name that will honor three students each semester who have taken the best photo as part of class assignments.

The spring 2014 winners of the photojournalism contest were: McKinzie Frisbie, first place, $200; Karen Schaffner, second place, $125; and Joshua Nothnagle, third place, $75.

Judges were Harry Walker, director of photography at McClatchy-Tribune Information Services in Washington, D.C.; Evelyn Hockstein, freelance photographer based in Washington, D.C.; and Mike Christy, staff photographer, Arizona Daily Star. 

The three winners – as well as eight other beginning photojournalism students – will have their images displayed in the School of Journalism for the next several months. They are: Janella Eshiet, Ryan Foley, Ginny James, Max Lancaster, Malena Larson, Ethan McSweeney, Juliana Romeo and Julianne Stanford.

(Click HERE to see past winners and photos.)

FIRST PLACE: Carl "Safe Sax" Ferris performs for the Fremont Street Experience crowd in Las Vegas, Nev. (Photo by Mckinzie Frisbie)

SECOND PLACE: Athletes from the Air Force as well as universities in Kansas, Washington, Arizona and New Mexico take the first hurdle in the high hurdles event at the Jim Click Shoot Out Track and Field. (Photo by Karen Schaffner)

THIRD PLACE: Tygel Pinto plays the flute and beatboxes during a fashion show at the Southwest Indian Art Fair at the Arizona State Museum at the UA. (Photo by Josh Nothnagle)