Master's Alumni

Anna Augustowska

Melissa Guz

Sam McNeil

Here are updates on some graduates of the School of Journalism master's program. To be added to the list, please send career updates to outreach coordinator Mike Chesnick at

Anna Augustowska (2014), who received the Excellence in Broadcast Journalism Award from the University of Arizona School of Journalism, is a video and multimedia producer for the UA College of Social and Behavioral Scienes. She also is a documentary producer and filmmaker.

Shekhah Al Dosary (2014) is a journalist and Middle Eastern culture and media researher in the Washington, D.C., area.

Bethany Barnes (2013), a reporter for the Las Vegas Review-Journal, was named 2015 Journalist of Merit from the Nevada Press Association.

Bethany Conway (2011) earned her doctorate from the Department of Communication, University of Arizona. She is an assistant professor in the Department of Communication at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. 

Jason Davis (2014), who received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award, is a digital editor for the Planetary Society. 
Ruohong Deng (2010) conducts social media marketing for a top Chinese firm in Beijing.
Britain Eakin (2015), who won the Excellence in Research award, is a reporter for Courthouse News Service, Washington, D.C. 
Shahrazad Encinias (2015), a freelance writer based in Tucson, is a journalism instructor at Pima Community College and the faculty adviser for the student newspaper, Aztec Press.
Nigar Fataliyeva (2013) is the English editor for Meydan.TV/en in New York City.
Sarah Gassen (2010) is a columnist and editorial writer at the Arizona Daily Star, and an adjunct instructor for the UA School of Journalism.
Melissa Guz (2013) is a freelance journalist in Arizona and a producer with First Coast News.
Kathleen A. Harrison (2012) is a communications specialist with Pima County in Tucson.
Sam McNeil (2014), who won the Excellence in International Journalism award, is a video journalist for The Associated Press, based in Amman, Jordan.
Clayton Norman (2011) s an online organizer for the Center for Biological Diversity.
Corey Poindexter-Ramirez (2013) is a medical fitness specialist at ReJuv Medical Southwest in Oro Valley, Arizona.
Curt Prendergast (2011) is a reporter for the Arizona Daily Star.
Catherine J. Rosenberg (2015) received both the Outstanding Graduate Student Award and Excellence in Science Journalism Award. She graduated Kappa Tau Alpha. She is a freelance writer and videographer based in Tucson.
Gwyneth Shaw (2010) reports on nanotechnology. She also teaches journalism and non-fiction writing at the University of Pennsylvania.
Diana Sokolova (2012) is a doctoral candidate at Indiana University.
Susan Swanberg (2014), who received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award, is an assistant professor at the University of Arizona School of Journalism.
Anissa Tanweer (2012) is a doctoral candidate at the University of Washington.


Key Word(s) of the Page: 

Group Box: