Scholarships/Writing contests


McGrady/Allard Science Journalism Travel Grant

The Council for the Advancement of Science Writing occasionally makes funds available to aspiring science journalists (including those in graduate science writing programs) to help underwrite the costs of travel to other major science meetings. Deadline: varies.


Mark of Excellence Awards

Annual contest by Society of Professional Journalists honors best collegiate journalism in 39 categories for print, radio, television, and online media. Regional and national awards given. Deadline: January 23.


College Photographer of the Year


The annual contest "recognizes outstanding work of students currently working toward a degree." The winner receives the $1,000 Col. William Lookadoo award, the $500 Milton Freier award and a paid 14-week internship with National Geographic magazine. Deadline: October 1.


The David W. Miller Award for Student Journalists

$2,500 award given annually to undergraduates who published journalistic articles in a campus publication on a topic of intellectual interest. Examples include a new trend, discovery, or theory; an important scholarly debate; an issue with both scholarly and public-policy implications; or a researcher who is as interesting as his or her scholarship. Deadline: June 1.


Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards


Known as the "Poor People's Pulitzers" within the press arena, these prizes are awarded to high school, college, professional and international journalists in the categories of print, radio, TV, photography and editorial cartoons. They honor "the outstanding reporting of the lives and strife of disadvantaged people throughout the world." Deadline: January 30.


The Evert Clark/Seth Payne Award For Young Science Journalists

Award given to journalists ages 30 and under who have published articles on any field of science (biology, health, math, computers, science policy, etc.). Winner receives $1,000 and expenses to attend the annual meeting of the National Association of Science Writers and the New Horizons briefing of the Council for the Advancement of Science Writing. Deadline: June 30.


David S. Barr Awards

$500 prize for a high school entrant and a $1,500 prize for the college winner in recognition of "reporting that promotes issues of importance to working people and that contributes to the pursuit of justice and fairness." Deadline: last Friday of January.


Robert Novak Collegiate Journalism Award


College journalists can win up to $5,000 and trip to Washington, D.C., for stories they published for a school publication or website. Deadline: April 15.


AAEC/John Locher Memorial Award


Annual award recognizes best editorial cartoonist in college. Open to undergraduate student cartoonists from the U.S., Canada and Mexico. Winner receives a personalized plaque and an expense-paid trip to the Association of American Editorial Cartoonists convention. Deadline: March 15.