School Awards

David McGlothlin, the 2016 Bolles Fellowship winner, blogs during a "Science in the Courtroom" workshop in fall 2015.

The School of Journalism hands out nearly two dozen awards to students each year to recognize journalism excellence. The honors recognize everything from best beginning news writer and photojournalist to the junior and senior of the year.

Past recipients have gone on to careers at such prestigious news organizations as the Boston Globe, the Washington Post and The Arizona Republic. See the links, below, for complete listings of School of Journalism award winners. Please send any corrections to Debbie Cross,, program coordinator.

Don Bolles Fellows

B.P. Campbell Junior of the Year

Mark Finley Best Beginning News Writer

Kathryn Anne Governal Perseverance Award

Drew Gyorke Photojournalism Award

Philip Mangelsdorf Outstanding Newsperson

Douglas Martin Award for Courage and Integrity

Sherman R. Miller Senior of the Year

Donald Still Award for the Arizona Daily Wildcat

Hugh and Jan Harelson Excellence in Teaching Award