Albright, Sinek win 2018-19 Finley news writing awards

April 16, 2019
Pascal Albright edits a story at the Arizona Daily Wildcat.

Pascal Albright edits a story at the Arizona Daily Wildcat.

Photo by Amy Bailey

Pascal Albright and Quincy Sinek captured the Mark Finley Gold Pen Award in the University of Arizona School of Journalism's best beginning news writing contest for fall 2018 and spring 2019, respectively.

Twenty-two students selected by their JOUR 205 instructors competed in the April 10 contest.

In the fall 2018 contest, James Parisi finished second behind Albright and Jamie Donnelly placed third.

In the spring 2019 contest, Aiya Cancio finished second behind Sinek and Seth Markowski placed third.

Students had an hour to write a story after covering a news conference in the school's Marshall Building with Tucson Mayor Jonathan Rothschild, who spoke about the federally funded Community Schools initiative, now in its fifth year. The program brings Vista and AmeriCorps volunteers into high schools and middle schools to help students with college planning, health care, food assistance and tutoring.

Rothschild also answered questions about his decision not to seek another term, Tucson's economic future and his accomplishments.

Professors Nancy SharkeySusan Knight and Geoff Ellwand judged the competition.

The contest is named for the late Mark Finley, a UA grad who was a journalist and assistant to the publisher of Hearst's Boston newspaper for 17 years.

The first-place winners will receive $1,250 each in scholarship money, followed by $750 each for the runner-ups and $500 each for the third-place finishers.

The six students will be honored at the School of Journalism’s Just Desserts event on May 8 from 4 to 6 p.m. at the Arizona Historical Society.

• Go to to see past winners.


Pascal Albright

Pascal Albright, winner


James Parisi

James Parisi, 2nd


Jamie Donnelly

Jamie Donnelly, 3rd




Quincy Sinek

Quincy Sinek, winner


Aiya Cancio

Aiya Cancio, 2nd


Seth Markowski

Seth Markowski, 3rd