School Awards


Jasmine Demers received the 2019 Mangelsdorf Outstanding Newsperson Award from Prof. Michael McKisson.

The School of Journalism hands out nearly two dozen awards to students each year to recognize journalism excellence. The honors recognize everything from best beginning news writer and photojournalist to the junior and senior of the year.

Past recipients have gone on to careers at such prestigious news organizations as the Boston Globe, the Washington Post and The Arizona Republic. See the links, below, for complete listings of School of Journalism award winners. Please send any corrections to Mike Chesnick, outreach coordinator.

• Philip Mangelsdorf Outstanding Newsperson

• Sherman R. Miller Senior of the Year

• Mark Finley Best Beginning News Writer

• Drew Gyorke Photojournalism Award

• Don Bolles Fellowship

Bolles Fellowship winner Jordan Williams covered the Arizona Legislature in 2019. The scholarship is named after Arizona Republic reporter Don Bolles, who was killed in a 1976 car bombing in Phoenix.