Winners announced for first Drew Gyorke Photojournalism Contest

Three students were honored Dec. 4 in the beginning photojournalism class in the School of Journalism as winners of the first Drew Gyorke Photojournalism Contest.

The contest is named for a journalism student with a passion for photography who was killed in a Tucson car accident May 26. His family and friends raised more than $20,000 to create an endowment in his name that will honor three students each semester judged to have taken the photo as part of class assignments.

The fall 2013 winners are:

  • First Place $200.00: Corina Carmen Gallardo
  • Second Place $125.00: Kathryn Marie Mailliard 
  • Third Place: $75.00: Liza Estelle Rubin

Read more at this UA News story.

Click HERE to see past winners and photos.


















Published Date: 

12/04/2013 - 1:07pm

Key Word(s) of the Page: