Master's Alumni

Alexandra Adamson

Anna Augustowska

 Wellars Bakina

Bethany Barnes

Kendal Blust

Emily Ellis

Hannah Gaber

Sam McNeil

Ashley Mikelonis

Natalia Navarro









Here are updates on some graduates of the School of Journalism master's program. To be added to the list, please send career updates to outreach coordinator Mike Chesnick at

Jacquelyn Abad (2015) is a reporter for CBS 58 in Milwaukee.

Alexandra (Allie) Adamson (2016) is a recruiter at Insight Global, a national staffing and services company. She plans to freelance for magazines (print/web) in Phoenix and Scottsdale, such as Phoenix Magazine and Arizona Foothills Magazine. Also, after studying fashion blogging for her thesis, she plans to create her own lifestyle blog.

Shekhah Al Dosary (2014) is a journalist and Middle Eastern culture and media researcher in the Washington, D.C., area.

Musherf Alamri (2015) is an editor at the Arabian Sun in Dhahran, Saudi Arabia.

Rob Alcaraz (2013) is a video journalist working as a page one video producer for The Wall Street Journal

Anna Augustowska (2014), who received the Excellence in Broadcast Journalism Award from the University of Arizona School of Journalism, is a video and multimedia producer for the UA College of Social and Behavioral Sciences. Also a documentary producer and filmmaker, she won a Rocky Mountain Emmy for her documentary Donnie.

Wellars Bakina (2017) is the acting dean of the faculty of Journalism and Communication Studies at the Catholic Institute of Kabgayi, Rwanda. He dreams of earning a doctorate in mass communication or journalism.

Bethany Barnes (2013) is a reporter at The Oregonian in Portland. She was chosen as a USC Annenberg Journalism Fellow for her health journalism project. Before that, she was a reporter for the Las Vegas Review-Journal and was named the Nevada Journalist of the Year for her investigative stories.

Kendal Blust (2016) was the first Zenger Fellow at the University of Arizona School of Journalism, where she received the Philip Mangelsdorf Outstanding Newsperson Award and the Excellence in International Journalism Award. She is a reporter with KJZZ Phoenix public radio at its new bureau in Hermosillo, Sonora.

Kirsten Boele (2011) practices transport law and maritime labor law at Wybenga Advocaten in Rotterdam, The Netherlands.

Saul Bookman (2018) is a content manager for FOX Sports Arizona.

Stephen Choice (2016) is a freelance copy editor.

Bethany Conway (2011) earned her doctorate from the Department of Communication at the University of Arizona. She is an assistant professor in the Department of Communication at California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo. 

Jason Davis (2014), who received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award, is a digital editor for the Planetary Society. 

Ruohong Deng (2010) conducts social media marketing for a top Chinese firm in Beijing.

Alex Devoid (2017) received an environmental reporting fellowship at the Arizona Republic. He works with reporter Brandon Loomis on in-depth stories about resources vital to Arizona—water, air, land and wildlife.

Britain Eakin (2015), who won the Excellence in Research award, is a reporter for Courthouse News Service in Washington, D.C. 

Emily Ellis (2018), who won the Outstanding Graduate Student award, is a reporter for the Herald/Review in Sierra Vista, Arizona.

Jorge (George) Encinas (2016) interned at National Public Radio in Washington, D.C.

Shahrazad Encinias (2015) is based in Tucson, where she teaches English, journalism, social justice, and Latin American music and culture at the Kino School. She also works as a bilingual freelance reporter and editor.

Nigar Fataliyeva (2013) is the English editor for Meydan.TV/en in New York City.

Hannah Gaber (2016), named the Outstanding Graduate Student, was a video and multimedia journalist at the Arizona Republic. She is now making a film in Cyprus through a Fulbright research grant.

Sarah Gassen (2010) is a columnist and editorial writer at the Arizona Daily Star and an adjunct instructor for the UA School of Journalism. 

Melissa Guz (2013) is a freelance journalist in Arizona and a producer with First Coast News.

Kathleen A. Harrison (2012) is a communications specialist with Pima County in Tucson.

Ary Hermawan (2016), who won the Excellence in Research award, is the managing editor for The Jakarta Post.

Jenny Hijazi (2017), who received both the Outstanding Graduate Student and the Excellence in International Journalism awards, is a news assistant at PBS NewsHour in Washington, D.C.

Alyssa Schlitzer Hill (2018) received both the Excellence in Multimedia Journalism and the Excellence in Design awards. She works as a web designer/developer at Creative Slice, a web design firm with clients nationwide.

Mikayla Mace (2017), who won the Excellence in Research award and the Excellence in Science and Environmental Journalism award, is the science and higher education reporter for the Arizona Daily Star.

Sam McNeil (2014), who won the Excellence in International Journalism award, is a video journalist for the Associated Press. He is based in Amman, Jordan, where he covers refugees, the environment, archaeology, and drones.

Ashley Mikelonis (2017) successfully defended her thesis on ““Exploring the Success and Defeat of Ronda Rousey: A Content Analysis of Twitter and Newspaper Coverage 2014-2016” in December 2017.

Natalia Navarro (2018) is a morning reporter at Colorado Public Radio in Denver ( Navarro, who also received her bachelor's in journalism from UA, interned at Arizona Public Media and the Arizona Daily Star.

Clayton Norman (2011) is an online organizer for the Center for Biological Diversity in Tucson.

Cece Perry (2010) is the assistant academic dean in the College of Arts and Sciences at Maryville University in St Louis.

Corey Poindexter-Ramirez (2013) is teaching AP English at the Colegio Bilingüe New Horizons in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.

Curt Prendergast (2011) is a reporter for the Arizona Daily Star.

Christa Reynolds (2015) is working in international health at the J.S.I. Research and Training Institute in Washington, D.C.

Catherine J. Rosenberg (2015) received both the Outstanding Graduate Student and Excellence in Science Journalism awards. She graduated Kappa Tau Alpha. She is a freelance writer and videographer based in Tucson.

Gwyneth Shaw (2010) reports on nanotechnology. She also teaches journalism and non-fiction writing at the University of Pennsylvania.

Diana Sokolova (2012) is a doctoral candidate in mass communication and media studies at Indiana University. Her dissertation is titled “Comparing two media realities: Cross-outlet framing analysis of the Russian alternative and traditional state control media prior to the 2016 Duma election.”

Susan Swanberg (2014), who received the Outstanding Graduate Student Award, is an assistant professor at the University of Arizona School of Journalism. She teaches courses in science journalism, environmental journalism, media law, and news writing.

Anissa Tanweer (2012) is a doctoral candidate in the Department of Communication at the University of Washington.

Riley Versfelt (2017) is working in marketing for Little Giraffe in Los Angeles.