Loft series features 'Seabiscuit,' NY Times' Drape

The school's Journalism on Screen series will continue Sunday, Feb. 18, at 2 p.m. with "Seabiscuit." New York Times sports correspondent and turf writer Joe Drape will talk after the film about how the press has covered the horse racing industry over the years, and what has changed. The 2003 film, directed by Gary Ross, is the true story of the undersized Depression-era racehorse whose victories lifted the nation.

Calendar Type: 

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

Hall of Fame brunch and induction tickets available

Alums, friends and family can buy tickets for the UA School of Journalism’s Hall of Fame brunch and induction ceremony on Saturday, April 7, 2018.

The inaugural event will take place at the UA’s Center for Creative Photography, 1030 N. Olive Road, from 11 a.m. to 2 p.m. The brunch will start at 11 on the patio, and the induction ceremony will be held in the auditorium at about 12:15.

Published Date: 

01/08/2018 - 11:56am

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

Science journalism class creates zoo documentary

Professor Carol Schwalbe's science journalism class produced a 15-minute documentary, "A Modern Zoo," that gives viewers a behind-the-scenes look at Reid Park Zoo in Tucson and the wildlife conservation work being done today and in the future.

Students Marissa Heffernan (producer), Carly Oseran, Elizabeth Kinney, Alyssa Hill and Nick Smallwood talked about how they made the film at a school gathering on Nov. 29.

Published Date: 

12/14/2017 - 2:56pm

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

From left, Elizabeth Kinney, Alyssa Hill, Carly Oseran, Marissa Heffernan and Nick Smallwood.

• "A Modern Zoo": Watch the film here.
• Read the UANews story here.


Baier wins fall 2017 Finley award

Rocky Baier captured the Mark Finley Gold Pen Award in the school's fall 2017 best beginning news writing contest on Nov. 28.

Zachary Ogden placed second and Owen Zerambo finished third after 17 JOUR 205 students participated in the contest. Baier will receive $1,000 in scholarship money, followed by Ogden with $750 and Zerambo with $500. All 17 participants will received engraved pens.

Published Date: 

04/18/2017 - 4:40pm

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

Rocky Baier, winner of Finley conetst, asks Richard Elías a question.

Rocky Baier

Zachary Ogden

Owen Zerambo

Gallup: UA Journalism graduates happier, better prepared for life, and get jobs

Compared to other college graduates, University of Arizona journalism majors are happier socially, feel better prepared for life, are more likely to get jobs, and are more appreciative of the professors who inspired them, according to a national study this year by Gallup.

Published Date: 

11/28/2017 - 4:18pm

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

Jenny Hijazi, a 2017 master's grad, is working now at PBS NewsHour in Washington, D.C.

UA honors Harelson family with alumni award

Taking up their parents’ banner in supporting UA journalism, brothers Matt and Scott Harelson and their families were honored by the university and the College of Social and Behavioral Sciences during Homecoming weekend.

They received the Harelson Family Award at the annual UA Alumni of the Year Awards Ceremony on Oct. 27. The family was one of 15 award recipients honored at the Student Union.

Published Date: 

10/27/2017 - 9:40am

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

From left, Scott and Marisa Harelson, and Julie and Matt Harelson, in the reporting lab named after Hugh and Jan Harelson.

Ceremony: See Harelson family video.
• UANews story: "Meet the UA's Best of the Best: The 15 Alumni of the Year."
• Hall of Fame: Hugh and Jan Harelson part of school's inaugural class.

Sara Harelson, daughter of Matt and Julie, is a journalism senior at UA.

School's service helps newsrooms blend technology, storytelling

Newsrooms across the state can now hire students from the University of Arizona School of Journalism to help them use emerging storytelling tools such as drones and 360-degree video cameras.

The school has launched Digital News Production and Consultation Services — — to offer training and consultation to news organizations that want to certify drone pilots, better understand product development in journalism or begin work with immersive reporting.

Published Date: 

10/10/2017 - 9:44am

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

Prof. Michael McKisson (second from right) and students practice flying a drone. (Photo by Chris Richards)

School awarded $35,000 grant from Online News Association.

The school's award-winning projects:

Foley Run honors slain journalist

Students in the School of Journalism at the University of Arizona will take part Saturday, Oct. 14, in the James W. Foley Freedom Run/Walk 5K, a nationwide event in memory of the freelance journalist who was kidnapped and brutally slain by in 2014 while reporting inside Syria.

The Tucson run and walk will be sponsored by the student chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists and the Center for Border & Global Journalism at the UA School of Journalism. 

Calendar Type: 

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

School wins $35,000 ONA grant to partner with Star

One of only 10 universities selected, the UA School of Journalism has won a $35,000 grant from the Online News Association that will let students develop products to help the Arizona Daily Star better engage with its readers.

ONA announced the grants today in Washington, D.C., to kick off its annual national conference. The Challenge Fund for Innovation in Journalism Education supports universities to partner with news organizations and explore new ways of providing information to their communities.

Published Date: 

10/05/2017 - 1:06pm

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

• Click HERE to read about the 10 Challenge Fund schools.

Prof. Michael McKisson shows students how to use a 360-degree camera attached to a smartphone.

School launches new service to help newsrooms blend technology, storytelling.

School names inaugural Hall of Fame class

From Pulitzer Prize winners to trailblazing faculty, 14 people and two couples will be inducted into the inaugural University of Arizona School of Journalism Hall of Fame for their significant achievements and service to journalism and society.

The first class includes Douglas D. MartinSherman R. Miller IIIDonald W. Carson and Jacqueline E. Sharkey, former directors of the school, which began in January 1951 as the Department of Journalism.

Published Date: 

10/03/2017 - 8:44am

Key Word(s) of the Page: 

Subscribe to School of Journalism RSS