Two J-grads help capture Murrow Award

Two University of Arizona School of Journalism graduates shared the 2016 Edward R. Murrow Award for best small-market radio news documentary with "Divided by Law," a joint Arizona Daily Star and Arizona Public Media project about how immigration law separated four U.S. children from their mother.

Then-AZPM reporter Fernanda Echavarri ('07) and Star photographer Mike Christy ('11) teammed up with Star reporter Perla Trevizo on the story in 2015 as part of a fellowship with the Institute for Justice and Journalism.

The Murrow Awards recognize the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and online news organizations around the world. A complete list of the 2016 winners can be found at

Echavarri, who now works as a producer for NPR's "Latino USA," also received a Murrow Award in 2013 as part of a team of reporters at AZPM and she captured a Rocky Mountain Emmy in 2014. She began her career as a reporter at the Tucson Citizen and the Star.

Christy was a finalist for Photographer of the Year at this year's Arizona Press Club Awards, and he captured four first-place photo awards last year from the Arizona Newspapers Association.

Published Date: 

06/24/2016 - 10:48am